• 3800 Commerce St. , Dallas , Texas (Deep Ellum)
• 85,000 sq. ft., 79 loft apartment units
• Constructed 1928, renovated 1999
• Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
The Mitchell Building was constructed in 1928 as the headquarters for the John E. Mitchell Company. The factory building is utilitarian in style and construction; typical of industrial structures of the period, with restrained brick and cast-stone detailing and large, multiple-light windows. The interior structural framing consists of timber floor joists and decking supported by steel beams spanning between timber columns.
The John E. Mitchell Company was a leader in the cotton processing industry and contributed to the increased efficiency of cotton production in the 20 th century. During World War II, the company became a leader in the manufacture of munitions and four times was awarded the prestigious “E Award” for the “outstanding production of war materials”. After the war, the company branched out and expanded its product line to include the Mark IV automobile air conditioners, ICEE frozen carbonated beverage dispensers and MagiVac cleaning systems. The John E. Mitchell Company continued to occupy the building at 3800 Commerce until 1977.
After remaining vacant for approximately 20 years, an investment partnership led by John Miller acquired the building in 1996 and commenced pre-development / design related activities. In 1999, a partnership, including Charley Ragan, of Plan B, converted the building into 79 loft apartment and office units. Building amenities include a swimming pool, parking garage, club room, sculpture gallery and roof deck with stunning views of Downtown Dallas. Construction financing was facilitated with historic tax credits and property tax abatements.